I see this alot, people's CPUs crash (or like a recent post, a PS2 HDD wipes. DAMN that sucks.)
But it doesnt seem to be common knowlage among alot of people that:
As long as your POL account never gets deleted, you will NOT need to re-register your game/expansions.
Now, if you already knew...