I think SE will keep your character data unless you delete your content ID,
I think you can keep it as long as you like. I'm sure SE will contect you if you character had been inactive for like 5 months, and see what you want to do with your Content ID
After 3 months they CAN delete your character, but most of the time the will keep it for longer. Just depends on when they need more hard drive space, really.